Summer Programs 4

The summer is a great opportunity to continue learning about topics covered in school and also a chance to explore far beyond them.  We strongly encourage your child to continue her or his academic and extracurricular life during the summer. Here are some lower cost and/or free opportunities to explore:

All Star Code (rising 11th & 12th graders who are male) – http://www.allstarcode.org/apply/

American Museum of Natural History – Saltz Internship Program (16-18 year olds) – http://www.amnh.org/learn-teach/grades-9-12/saltz-internship-program

Applied Research Innovations in Science & Engineering @ NYU (10 & 11th graders) – http://engineering.nyu.edu/k12stem/arise/

Asian American Journalists Association Camp (high school students) – http://www.aaja.org/category/programsprojects/jcamp-high-school-program/

Bank of American Student Leaders Program (11th & 12th graders) – http://about.bankofamerica.com/en-us/global-impact/student-leaders.html?cm_mmc=ebz-corprep-_-vanity-_-ee01lt0025_vanity_student_leaders-_-enterprise#fbid=6EgGFeHhjzT

Baruch College Science and Technology Entry Program (7-12th graders) – http://www.baruch.cuny.edu/step/

Bella Abzug Leadership Institute @ Hunter College (high school girls) – http://www.abzuginstitute.org/

Boys Club of New York – Summer Cycle (ages 6-21) – http://www.bcny.org/programs/summer-cycle

Breakthrough Collaborative (ages 15+) – http://www.breakthroughcollaborative.org/

Brooklyn Museum Apprentice Program  (ages 14+) – https://www.brooklynmuseum.org/education/teens/museum-apprentices

Camp G.O.A.L.S. (rising 9th & 10th grade girls) – http://www.intrepidmuseum.org/GOALSforGirls.aspx

Central Park Conservancy Summer Internship Program (at least 16 years old) – http://www.centralparknyc.org/volunteer/youth-programs/summer-internship-program.html

Chinatown Youth Initiatives, Summer Leadership Institute (high school) – http://www.cyinyc.org/programs/summer-leadership-institute.html

City College Of New York – STEM Institute (9-11th graders) – http://stem.ccny.cuny.edu/

City University of New York- College Now Program (all ages) –http://collegenow.cuny.edu/

City Growers – Urban Roots Youth Leaders (high school) – https://citygrowers.org/rooftop-farm-education-internship/

Coalition for Asian American Children and Families – Youth Leadership (9-12th graders)-  cacf.org/home/what-we-do/leadership/

Cooper Union Summer STEM Program (rising 11&12th graders) – http://www.cooper.edu/engineering/summer-stem

Coro New York City Youth Council (10-12th graders) – http://coronewyork.org/coro-programs/new-york-city-youth-council/

Dorot Summer Teen Internship Program (rising 10-12th graders) – http://www.dorotusa.org/site/PageServer?pagename=vol_summer_teen_internships#.VtCwvvkrK2w

Fresh Air Fund Summer Camping Program (up to age 15) – http://www.freshair.org/summer-camping-program-sign-up

The Frick Collection (11 & 12th graders) – http://www.frick.org/programs/summer_study_projects

Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History Internship (high school students) – http://www.gilderlehrman.org/programs-exhibitions/internships

Girls Who Code (10 & 11th graders) – http://www.girlswhocode.com/programs/

Green Girls (middle school) – http://www.cityparksfoundation.org/education/green-girls/

HIRES (STEM program for high school) – http://crest.cuny.edu/hires/apply-now/

Ichan School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai Hospital (10-12th graders) – http://icahn.mssm.edu/about/diversity/ceye/programs/summer

Inside Schools (Listing of After School and Free Programs for all ages) – http://insideschools.org/free-programs

Inspiring Girls Expeditions (16 & 17 year old females) – http://www.inspiringgirls.org/what-we-do/

Joan Mitchell Foundation, Summer Intensive Art Education Program (middle & high school) – http://joanmitchellfoundation.org/education-programs/summer/intensive

John Jay Educational Talent Search Program (rising 7th & 8th graders) – http://www.jjay.cuny.edu/programs-high-school-students

Ladders for Leaders Internship (11th & 12th graders) –http://www1.nyc.gov/site/dycd/services/jobs-internships/nyc-ladders-for-leaders.page

Latino Youth for Higher Education (junior high school & high school students) – http://www.lyhep.org/for-students/camino-al-futuro-program/

LEAD Program @ NYU & Goldman Sachs (rising 11th graders) – http://leadprogram.org/apps/pages/index.jsp?uREC_ID=265508&type=d&termREC_ID=&pREC_ID=506760

Legal Outreach – Law & Justice Institute (rising 9th graders) – http://legaloutreach.org/?page_id=155

Minority Introduction to Engineering & Science (rising 12th graders) – http://web.mit.edu/mites/

Museum of Arts & Design Artslife Internship (rising 10th & 11th graders) – http://www.madmuseum.org/learn/artslife

NASA New York City Research Institute (high school) – http://education.gsfc.nasa.gov/nycri/

NYC Center for Space Science Education  (middle & high school students) – http://schools.nyc.gov/Academics/Science/SpaceCenter/beyond/campprograms/default.htm

NYC Department of Design & Construction High School Summer Internship Program (high school students) – http://www1.nyc.gov/site/ddc/steam/hs-summer-internship.page

NYCDOE Summer Arts Institute (rising 8-12th graders) – http://schools.nyc.gov/offices/teachlearn/arts/summerarts.html

NYCDOE Environmental Study Center (middle & high school) – http://schools.nyc.gov/Academics/Science/EnvironmentalCenter/beyond/SummerPrograms/default.htm

NYC Parks Department Lifeguard Training Program (at least 16 years old) http://www.nycgovparks.org/opportunities/jobs/lifeguards

NYC Parks Seasonal Positions (high school) – http://www.nycgovparks.org/opportunities/jobs/seasonal

NYC Summer Youth Employment Program (ages 14-24) –http://www1.nyc.gov/site/dycd/services/jobs-internships/summer-youth-employment-program-syep.page

NYPD Summer Youth Police Academy (ages 10-16) – http://www.nyc.gov/html/nypd/html/community_affairs/youth_programs_summer_academy.shtml

New York City Youth Council (rising 10th & 11th graders) – http://www.coronewyork.org/corony/programs/mylc/

New York Historical Society Internship (10-12th graders) – http://www.nyhistory.org/education/internships/high-school-internships

NY State Dept. of Environmental Conservation, Environmental Education Summer Camp (ages 11-17) – http://www.dec.ny.gov/education/29.html

NY State Summer School of the Arts – http://www.oce.nysed.gov/nysssa/

NYU Computer Science for Cyber Security Summer Program (female high school students) – http://engineering.nyu.edu/k12stem/cs4cs/

Noguchi Museum Making Your Mark Program (rising 10th-12th graders) – http://www.noguchi.org/programs/education/teens

Preface @ Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (rising 11th & 12th graders) – http://doso.rpi.edu/update.do?catcenterkey=87

Princeton University Summer Journalism Program (11th grade) – http://www.princeton.edu/sjp/

Prospect Theater Company Summer Intensive for Teens (ages 12-17) : http://www.prospecttheater.org/summer-intensive-for-teens

Sadie Nash Leadership Project (14-21 year old girls) – http://www.sadienash.org/apply_summer.htm

Science Research Opportunities for High School Students: http://www.rockefeller.edu/outreach/links

Smithsonian Latino Center – Young Ambassadors Program (12th graders) – http://www.latino.si.edu/Education/YAP

Sotomayor Judicial Internship Program (10th & 11th graders) – http://scsjip.org/hs_program.html

Sponsors for Educational Opportunity (rising 9th graders) – http://www.seoscholars.org/

Syracuse University, Summer College, NYC Scholarship Program (rising 12th graders) – http://summercollege.syr.edu/program/nyc-scholarship/

Trip of a Lifetime (8th-11th graders) – http://www.projecttoal.org/home

UnitedHealthCare Summer Internship Program (rising 11th & 12th graders) – http://uhcsip.tumblr.com/

Wave Hill Forest Project (rising 10-12th graders) – https://www.wavehill.org/education/forest-project/

Wave Hill Woodland Ecology Research Mentorship (high school students) – https://www.wavehill.org/education/woodland-ecology-research-mentorship/

Weil Cornell Medical College Youth Scholars Program (11th graders) – http://weill.cornell.edu/education/student/min_stu_nat.html

Whitney Museum Youth Insights Arts Careers (rising 10-12th graders) – http://whitney.org/Education/Teens/GetInvolved

Williams College Math Camp (high school students) – http://sites.williams.edu/mathcamp/

Wingspan Summer Conservatory (middle & high school students) – http://wingspanconservatory.wingspanarts.org/summer-conservatory/

Wishbone (high school students) – https://www.wishbone.org/

YMCA Lifeguard Certification Course (at least 16 years old) – http://www.ymcanyc.org/association/classes/lifeguard-training

Advertisements