BSGE #1 on US News Best High School Rankings in New York State, #21 in U.S.

BSGE was ranked #21 among the best high schools in the US and #1 among the best high schools in New York State.  Click on the link below to read BSGE’s full profile and to see the complete list.  There are additional stories listed below.

http://www.usnews.com/education/best-high-schools/national-rankings

Below is a link to More…

Advertisements

Dates for 2012-2013 PTA and SLT Meetings

2012-2013 Parent Teacher Association (PTA) Meeting Dates:

All meetings begin at 6:30PM

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Tuesday, October 9th 2012

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Tuesday, May 14, 2013

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

2012-2013 School Leadership Team (SLT) Meeting Dates:

All meetings begin at 6:30PM

Monday, September 24, 2012

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Tuesday, January 15, 2013

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

First Parent Teacher Association (PTA) Meeting, 9/19

Welcome to the new school year!  We will be holding our first PTA meeting on Wednesday, September 19th at 6:30 pm.

 

The agenda is as follows:

 

·             Welcome and general introduction to BSGE & PTA

·             Treasurer’s Report

·             Expedited Election to fill 3 School Leadership Team (SLT) Openings

·             Fundraising ideas

·             Partnering with our teachers

·             Miscellaneous

·             Q&A

Attached you will find a draft agenda for this year’s PTA and SLT meetings as well as minutes from our last PTA meeting in June.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

EXPEDITED ELECTIONS FOR 3 PARENT POSITIONS ON THE SCHOOL LEADERSHIP TEAM (SLT)

EXPEDITED ELECTIONS FOR 3 PARENT POSITIONS ON THE SCHOOL LEADERSHIP TEAM (SLT)

September 19, 2012

The PTA will be holding an expedited election to fill three open parent positions on the School Leadership Team (SLT).  The election will be held during the September 19th PTA meeting scheduled for 6:30 PM at BSGE.  Nominations will be taken from the floor.

 

What is the SLT?:

The School Leadership Team (SLT) consists of 5 members of the BSGE staff (including the principal and UFT Chapter leader) and 5 parents (including the PTA president).  School Leadership Team members are responsible for developing the school’s Comprehensive Education Plan (CEP) and ensuring that it is aligned with the school-based budget. The SLT focuses on issues that affect student learning including the school’s educational goals, curriculum and IB program, and school community involvement. Meetings are usually held the third Tuesday of the month beginning at 6:30 P.M.

Term of office:

Members of the SLT are elected for a two-year term.  Members elected on September 19th will serve until June 2014.

 

Who can run?:

All parents and legal guardians of students currently attending BSGE are eligible to run for the SLT parent positions unless the parent or legal guardian is currently employed by the school.

First Day of School, 9/6

Thursday, September 6th is the first day of school for the 2012-2013 school year. Students are expected to be at school by 7:50 and classes begin at 8:00 AM.  Students will find their first period assignments posted on the 1st floor and their full programs will be distributed in their first period classes.

Below you can download this year’s DOE school year calendar and BSGE’s A/B schedule.

Download the DOE 2012-13 Calendar

Download the A/B Schedule 2012-13